Skip to main content

How to restore Basecamp data

Written by ProBackup

This article explains which data types ProBackup can restore for Basecamp.

Projects

When you restore a project, a new project with the same name is created in your Basecamp account. Its to-do lists, to-dos, messages, documents, files, card table, schedule events and their comments are restored with it. Automatic check-ins cannot be restored.

To-dos

When you restore a to-do, a duplicate is created in the related list, including its comments. Completed to-dos are restored as completed.

Messages

When you restore a message, a duplicate is created on the related message board, including its comments.

Documents

When you restore a document, a duplicate is created in the related Docs & Files folder, including its comments.

Uploads

When you restore an upload (file), it is added back to the related Docs & Files folder, including its comments.

Card table cards

When you restore a card, a duplicate is created in its original column, including its steps and comments.

What can't be restored

Comments, schedule events, automatic check-ins and people are backed up and can be viewed and exported from your vault, but cannot be restored on their own. Comments are restored together with their to-do, message, document, file or card, and schedule events together with their project.

Did this answer your question?