ProBackup is a data backup & restore solution for Linear and other SaaS apps.
ProBackup runs daily, automated backups to protect your Linear data from accidental deletions, bulk-edit mistakes, faulty integrations or AI agents, internal threats and ransomware. With the app, you can:
Access historical versions of issues, comments, projects, documents, etc.
Recover and restore deleted issues and projects back to Linear
Roll back changes to issues that still exist
Create your account
Click on Start free trial
Fill in your email, first name and last name, and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.
Click Sign up. You can also sign up with Google or Microsoft.
Verify your email by filling in the 6-digit verification code
Set up your backup
Click on Sign in with Linear
Log in to Linear if you aren't logged in yet.
Linear asks which workspace you want to connect. If you are a member of several workspaces, select the right one.
Review the requested permissions. ProBackup asks for read access to back up your data and write access so you can restore data back into Linear.
Click Authorize
Note: You don't need to be a Linear admin to connect ProBackup. If your workspace has turned on approvals for third-party applications, a Linear admin (on Enterprise: the workspace owner) has to approve ProBackup first. ProBackup backs up the teams that your Linear user can see. Private teams are only included if your user is a member of them.
If your Linear account uses a different email address than your ProBackup account, we send a 6-digit code to confirm it. Fill in the code.
When this is your first backup, choose the region where your backups will be stored, and click Confirm & Continue. You can't change the region after your account is set up.
On the Backup summary page, select which Linear teams you want to back up (shown when your workspace has more than one team). All teams are selected by default.
Click on Start Backup. This starts your first backup.
On the next step you have the option to sync your Linear backups to your Google Drive.
Click on Connect Google Drive or Skip to dashboard (you can connect your account later on the Settings page)
You are then redirected to your dashboard.
As soon as the first backup is completed you will receive an email from us. How long it takes depends on the size of your workspace. From that moment we will automatically back up your Linear workspace once per day.
Use the app
ProBackup automatically backs up your data once every 24 hours, no scheduling required.
On the backups page, choose on the left side panel which data type you would like to view: issues, comments, attachments, projects, milestones, documents, labels or users.
Select the Linear team at the top of the table. Users are workspace-wide and don't belong to a team.
Select the date of your version and the table will automatically show the data from the selected day.
Click on the item that you would like to view. Use the date navigation to view the different versions.
Click on Restore to restore the selected version back to your Linear workspace. Users and teams are kept for reference and cannot be restored.
For details, see What data is backed up for Linear? and How to restore Linear data.
Removing your Linear backup
If you wish to remove Linear from your ProBackup account:
Next to Linear, click on Remove
Confirm the removal of the app.
If Linear is your only backup, you can't remove it here. Close your ProBackup account instead (see below).
Alternatively you can also cancel your ProBackup subscription.
Once you have removed Linear from your account, all related data backups will be removed permanently within 10 days.
Disconnect the app
Removing Linear from ProBackup or cancelling your ProBackup account will not automatically disconnect your Linear account from ProBackup. To do so, please follow these steps:
Log in to Linear
Go to Settings > Security & access
Under Authorized applications, hover over ProBackup and click on Revoke access
Note: If you disconnect your Linear account from ProBackup, data will no longer be backed up. Existing data backups will remain on your ProBackup account.
Close your ProBackup account
If you wish to stop using your ProBackup account, then you can follow these steps:
Below Cancel Plan, click on Cancel my plan (also during the free trial)
Complete the steps to confirm the cancellation
Note: After closing your ProBackup account, we will remove your data backups within 10 days from our servers.
